Home » News and Newsletter » Ema Press Release, January 2010

Ema Press Release, January 2010

At the beginning of this year the majority of members of the European Museum of the Year Award Judging Committee left the European Museum Forum and have formed a new, not-for-profit foundation in The Netherlands, the European Museum Academy.

We considered that the time was right to establish a dynamic and forward-thinking organisation to stimulate innovative thinking in European museums, disseminating the results among the new generation of young museum

The European Museum Academy, registered as a not-for-profit foundation in The Netherlands, has
been established on the 10th anniversary of the death of the distinguished museologist, Kenneth
Hudson (1916-1999) by an enthusiastic group of professionals in the museum field and the wider
cultural sector.

Based on their extensive expertise this group felt that the time was right to set up a new
organisation to stimulate innovative thinking in European museums, disseminating the results
among the new generation of museum professionals. Focusing mainly on Europe, the Academy
welcomes contributions from museums, public and private, while strongly supporting the exchange
of experiences worldwide.

EMA organises activities, publishes reports, runs special projects and award schemes, and raises
funds for a wide range of sectors. Training programmes, including staff exchange programmes for
young professionals, are being arranged, as well as programmes concentrating on quality
management. Partnerships are being developed with a growing number of organisations with the
same interests in the museum and cultural sectors.
In its first year of activities, EMA wil, propose a programme of seminars, international meetings and
other initiatives which will be announced in the coming months.

Pool of Experts and Partners
The EMA brings together a group of experts active in specific sectors of the museum and heritage
world with proved experience in European programmes as well as in national and local development
projects. They contribute to the development of the Academy in terms of researching, lecturing,
training, writing and consulting activities. In this way the Academy benefits from co-operation with
colleagues who have amassed a wide range of skills developed over the years, and is able to offer a
comprehensive list of services based on sound knowledge of museums and heritage issues, with
regular updating of members. A full list of experts is given below.
The Academy intends develop permanet partnerships with other organizations active in the sector.
For the moment, common projects are under devolpment thanks to the cooperation with the Scuola
Normale di Pisa, the International School of Museology of Celje, the L.Micheletti Foundation. The
Santa Chiara Foundation, the Caixa de Pensiones Scientific Museology Courses, the Executive Master
Course of European Museology at IULM university of Milan, the ASSET Project (EU FP7 Programme),
the Cyprus Institute.

Andreja Rihter (President), Head of the International School of Museology, Celje, Slovenia , former
national correspondent, European Museum Forum (SI)
Massimo Negri (Director), Scientific Director of the Executive Master in European Museology at the
IULM University of Milan. Former Director of the European Museum Forum (I)
Wim van der Weiden (Chairman), Former member of Executive Board of ICOM, Director of Museon
and Naturali, former Chairman of the European Museum Forum (NL)
Christopher Grayson, until recently, responsible for cultural co-operation in the Parliamentary
Assembly of the Council of Europe (F)
Arno van Berge Henegouwen, Head of Department of Natural History, Museon (NL)

Benedetto Benedetti, Scuola Normale de Pisa (I)
Graziano Campanini, Director, Museo della Sanità Santa Maria della Vita, Bologna. Former national
correspondent , European Museum Forum (I)
Hermann Schäfer, former General Director of Culture and Media in the Chancellor’s Office, Berlin.
Vice-Minister for Culture and Media . Former member of the Judging Committee of the European
Museum Forum (D)
Tamás Vásárhelyi, Deputy Director General, Hungarian Natural History Museum, Budapest. Former
national correspondent, European Museum Forum (H)
Jorge Wagensberg, Scientific Director, Fundació ‘la Caixa’, Barcelona. Former member of the judging
committee of the European Museum Forum (ES)
Pool of Experts
*Thomas Brune, senior curator, Landesmuseum Stuttgart (D)
*Sibilla de Luxembourg, art historian, Luxembourg (L)
*J. Patrick Greene, CEO, Museum Victoria, Melbourne (AU)
*François-Xavier Nève de Mévergnies, Service de Linguistique expérimentale, Université de Liège (B)
Franco Niccolucci, The Cyprus Institute (CY)
*Ann Nicholls, freelance museum researcher and editor, Bristol (UK)
*Virgil Stefan Nitulescu, Inspector governamental, Secretariatul General al Guvernului, Bucuresti (R)
*Javier Pes, deputy editor, The Art Newspaper, London (UK)
Margherita Sani, Istituto Beni Culturali, Regione Emilia-Romagna, Bologna (I)
*Danièle Wagener, directeur des 2 musées de la Ville de Luxembourg (L)
*former members of the judging committee of the European Museum Forum

Leave a Reply