EMA Awards winners list by year

We present a chronological list of all EMA award winners from 1996 to 2021. The influence of EMA as an organisation of fostering quality in museums is truly pan-European.

EMA Awards winners list by year


2011                Portimão Museum, Portimão, Portugal

2012                santralistanbul Museum of Energy, Istanbul, Turkey

2013                Parque de las Ciencias, Granada, Spain

2014                National Petroleum Museum, Stavanger, Norway

2015                MAGMA Museum of Arts in Iron in the Maremma, Follonica, Italy

2016                Micropia, Amsterdam, The Netherlands

2017                Designmuseum Danmark, Copenhagen, Denmark

2018                SMAC State Museum for Archaeology Chemnitz, Germany

2019                The Workers’ Museum, Copenhagen, Denmark

2020/21           National Museum of Romanian Literature, Bucharest, Romania


1996                DASA The German Safety at Work Exhibition, Dortmund, Germany

1997                Municipal Museum, Idrija, Slovenia   

1998                Ecomuseum Bergslagen, Smedjebacken, Sweden

1999                Verdant Works, Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom

2000                Industrion, Kerkrade, The Netherlands

2001                English Mill’s Cork Museum, Silves, Portugal

2002                Ceramics Museum of Sacavém, Portugal

2003                Industrial Museum of Clockmaking, Villingen-Schwenningen, Germany

2004                Herring Era Museum, Siglufjordur, Iceland

2005                ONLUS, City of Science, Naples, Italy

2006                Tom Tits Experiment, Södertälje, Sweden

2007                Brunel’s ss Great Britain, Bristol, United Kingdom

2008                University Science Museum, Coimbra, Portugal

2009                Museum of the Jaeren Region, Naerbø, Norway

2010               Museu Agbar de les Aigües, Cornellà de Llobregat, Spain

2011                The State Textile and Industry Museum (TIM), Augsburg, Germany

2012                Riverside Museum, Glasgow, Scotland, UK

2013                Militärhistorisches Museum der Bundeswehr, Dresden, Germany

2014                MUSE – Museo delle Scienze, Trento, Italy

2015                National Archives of The Netherlands, The Hague, The Netherlands

2016                Den Gamle By, Aarhus, Denmark

2017                GPO Witness History Visitor Centre, Dublin, Ireland

2018                 Chaplin’s World By Grévin, Corsier-sur-Vevey, Switzerland

2019                ASTRA National Museum Complex, Sibiu, Romania

2020/21           Futurium, Berlin, Germany


2012                            Tropenmuseum Junior, Amsterdam, The Netherlands    

2013                            Please Touch Museum, Philadelphia, USA

2014                            National Gallery of Denmark (SMK), Copenhagen, Denmark

2015                            Lifetime Achievement Awards were awarded to:

                                    ZOOM Kindermuseum, Vienna, Austria
                                    Boston Children’s Museum, Boston, USA

2016                            GeoFort, Herwijnen, The Netherlands

2017                            National Museum of Science and Technology, Stockholm, Sweden

2018                            Keppel Centre for Art Education, National Gallery Singapore

2019                            Ker ImagiNation, Dakar, Senegal

2020/2021                   Dutch Open Air Museum, Arnhem, The Netherlands

Stay informed

Subscribe to our newsletter


We respect your privacy and only use this information to keep you informed by sending you a periodical newsletter.